Wednesday, 2 April 2014

Read the Nobels

A Perpetual Reading Challenge

In spring 2013, I browsed the internet for interesting books to read as every so often and came across a blog that is dedicated to the Nobel Prize in Literature, more precisely to the works of its many recipients since 1901. Basically, Read the Nobels serves as a collecting site for reviews (not just the links) that the participants of the perpetual reading challenge wish to share. Having launched my book blog with a review of Auto-da-fé by Elias Canetti, who was awarded the 1981 Nobel Prize in Literature, and planning to present more novels written by Nobel Prize laureates in due course, I didn’t hesitate to join.

In fact, everybody interested with a BLOGGER or GOOGLE account can join this challenge. It suffices to write an e-mail with the necessary data to the administrator. She will then add you as an author (click here for detailed instructions) so you can post on the site. Also bloggers ready to take more responsibility for the blog and to help revive it will certainly be welcome.

In addition, I joined the annual event Read the Nobels 2016 hosted by The Guiltless Reader on her blog Guiltless Reading as well as on Read the Nobels. And of course, I made a seperate list for it although it's pretty short.

For my and your convenience, I made a complete list of recipients of the Nobel Prize in Literature since its first award in 1901 with the links to my original reviews from Edith’s Miscellany and LaGraziana’s Kalliopeion.  Of course, there is a much greater choice of reviews available on Read the Nobels because it isn’t limited to my posts.

However, this is my current count: 
62 reviews of books written by 59 Nobel Prize laureates in Literature of altogether 119.

And here comes the list:
2022: Annie Ernaux (France)
2021: Abdulrazak Gurnah (Tansania/United Kingdom)
2020: Louise Glück (USA)

2019: Peter Handke (Austria)
2018 (retroactively awarded in 2019): Olga Tokarczuk (Poland)
2017: Kazuo Ishiguro (United Kingdom)
2016: Bob Dylon (USA)
2015: Svetlana Alexandrovna Alexievich (Belarus)

2014: Patrick Modiano (France)
2013: Alice Munro (Canada)
2012: Mo Yan (China)
    • Frog (2009), original Chinese title:
2011: Tomas Tranströmer (Sweden)
2010: Mario Vargas Llosa (Peru)
2009: Herta Müller (Germany)
    • The Passport (1986), original German title: Der Mensch ist ein großer Fasan auf der Welt
2008: Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio (France/Mauritius)
    • Desert (1980), original French title: Désert
2007: Doris Lessing (United Kingdom)
2006: Orhan Pamuk (Turkey)
    • Snow (2002), original Turkish title: Kar 
2005: Harold Pinter (United Kingdom)
2004: Elfriede Jelinek (Austria)
2003: John Maxwell Coetzee (South Africa)
2002: Kertész Imre (Hungary)
2001: Sir Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul (United Kingdom)
2000: Gao Xingjian (France)
1999: Günter Grass (Germany)
    • Crabwalk (2002), original German title: Im Krebsgang 
1998: José Saramago (Portugal)
1997: Dario Fo (Italy)
1996: Wisława Szymborska (Poland)
1995: Seamus Heaney (Ireland)

1994: Ōe Kenzaburō (Japan)
    • The Changeling (2000), original Japanese title: 取り替え子 (チェンジリング)
1993: Toni Morrison (USA)
1992: Derek Walcott (Saint Lucia)
1991: Nadine Gordimer (South Africa)
1990: Octavio Paz (Mexico)
1989: Camilo José Cela (Spain)
    • The Hive (1951), original Spanish title: La colmena 
1988: Naguib Mahfouz (Egypt)
    • Midaq Alley (1947), original Arabic title: زقاق المدق 
1987: Joseph Aleksandrovich Brodsky (Soviet Union/USA)
1986: Wole Soyinka (Nigeria)
1985: Claude Simon (France)
    • The Trolley (2001), original French title: Le tramway 
1984: Jaroslav Seifert (Czechoslovakia)
1983: William Golding (Great Britain)
1982: Gabriel García Márquez (Columbia/Mexico)
1981: Elias Canetti (Bulgaria/Great Britain)
    • Auto-da-fé (1935), original German title: Die Blendung
1980: Czesław Miłosz (Poland/USA)
1979: Odysseus Elytis (Greece)
1978: Isaac Bashevis Singer (USA)
1977: Vicente Aleixandre (Spain)
1976: Saul Bellow (USA)
1975: Eugenio Montale (Italy)
1974: Eyvind Johnson (Sweden) and
Harry Edmund Martinson (Sweden)

1973: Patrick White (Australia)
1972: Heinrich Böll (Federal Republic of Germany)
1971: Pablo Neruda (Chile)
1970: Aleksandr Isayevich Solzhenitsyn (Soviet Union)
1969: Samuel Beckett (Ireland)
1968: Kawabata Yasunari (Japan)
1967: Miguel Ángel Asturias (Guatemala)
1966: Nelly Sachs (Sweden) and
          Samuel Joseph Agnon (Israel)
1965: Mikhail Aleksandrovich Sholokhov (Soviet Union)
1964: declined by Jean Paul Sartre (France)
1963: Giorgos Seferis (Greece)
1962: John Steinbeck (USA)
1961: Ivo Andrić (Yugoslavia)
1960: Saint-John Perse (France)
1959: Salvatore Quasimodo (Italy)
1958: declined by Boris Leonidovich Pasternak (Soviet Union)
1957: Albert Camus (France)
    • The Plague (1947), original French title: La peste
1956: Juan Ramón Jiménez (Spain)
1955: Halldor Kiljan Laxness (Iceland)
1954: Ernest Hemingway (USA)
1953: Sir Winston Churchill (Great Britain)
1952: François Mauriac (France)
1951: Pär F. Lagerkvist (Sweden)
1950: Bertrand Russell (Great Britain)
1949: William Faulkner (USA)
1948: T. S. Eliot (Great Britain)
1947: André Gide (France)
1946: Hermann Hesse (Germany/Switzerland)
1945: Gabriela Mistral (Chile)
1944: Johannes V. Jensen (Denmark)
1943: not awarded
: not awarded
: not awarded
: not awarded
1939: Frans Eemil Sillanpää (Finland)
1938: Pearl S. Buck (USA)
1937: Roger Martin du Gard (France)
1936: Eugene O’Neill (USA)
1935: not awarded
1934: Luigi Pirandello (Italy)
1933: Ivan Alekseyevich Bunin (Soviet Union)
1932: John Galsworthy (Great Britain)
1931: Erik A. Karlfeldt (Sweden)
1930: Sinclair Lewis (USA)
1929: Thomas Mann (Germany)
1928: Sigrid Undset (Norway)
1927: Henri Bergson (France)
1926: Grazia Deledda (Italy)
1925: George Bernard Shaw (Great Britain [Ireland])
1924: Władysław Stanisław Reymont (Poland)
1923: William Butler Yeats (Ireland)
1922: Jacinto Benavente (Spain)
1921: Anatole France (France)
    • Penguin Island (1908), original French title: L’Île des Pingouins 
1920: Knut Hamsun (Norway)
1919: Carl F. G. Spitteler (Switzerland)
1918: not awarded
1917: Karl A. Gjellerup (Denmark) and
          Henrik Pontoppidan (Denmark)
1916: Verner von Heidenstam (Sweden)
1915: Romain Rolland (France)
1914: not awarded
1913: Rabindranath Tagore (India)
1912: Gerhart Hauptmann (Germany)
1911: Maurice Maeterlinck (Belgium)
1910: Paul J. L. Heyse (Germany)
1909: Selma Lagerlöf (Sweden)
1908: Rudolf C. Eucken (Germany)
1907: Rudyard Kipling (Great Britain)
1906: Giosuè Carducci (Italy)
1905: Henryk Sienkiewicz (Poland)
1904: Frédéric Mistral (France) and
          José Echegaray y Ezaguirre (Spain)
1903: Bjørnsterne Bjørnson (Norway)
1902: Theodore Mommsen (Germany) 
1901: René F. A. Sully Prudhomme (France)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Dear anonymous spammers: Don't waste your time here! Your comments will be deleted at once without being read.